Thursday, April 13, 2023 @ 6:30pm – 8:00pm (EDT)
The Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, United States
Online and in-person
Get tickets

$45 ($25 member) | Stream: $15 ($10 member)

For our second collaboration of the 2022/23 season with the Musicians from Marlboro touring program, lauded as a "virtual guarantee of musical excellence" by The Washington Post, Marlboro artists will perform two compelling contemporary works: yes I said I will Yes by Amy Beth Kirsten and Benkei's Standing Death by past Marlboro participant and freqent guest artist at the Phillips, Paul Wiancko.

Also featured on the concert are Felix Mendelssohn's Two Pieces for String Quartet, Op. 81, György Kurtág's Duos for Soprano & Double Bass from The Notebooks of G.C. Lichtenberg, and Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quintet in C major, Op. 29.

This concert will feature Marlboro touring artists Lucy Fitz Gibbon, soprano; Alexi Kenney & Lun Li, violin; Hélène Clement & Tanner Menees, viola; Yi Qun Xu, cello; and William Langlie-Miletich, double bass.

This event will be broadcast live from the Music Room on Sunday, April 13 at 6:30pm Eastern. To reserve a ticket, follow the link above to register. All registered ticket holders will receive a link directing them to a livestream webpage where the performance can be accessed. Ticket holders will be able to watch this performance "On Demand" for 48 hours following the broadcast time.

About Lucy Fitz Gibbon, soprano

Noted for her "dazzling, virtuoso singing" (Boston Globe), Lucy Fitz Gibbon is a dynamic musician whose repertoire spans the Renaissance to the present. She believes that creating new works and recreating those lost in centuries past makes room for the multiplicity and diversity of voices integral to classical music’s future. As such, Ms. Fitz Gibbon has given U.S. premieres of rediscovered works by Baroque composers Francesco Sacrati, Barbara Strozzi, and Agostino Agazzari, as well by 20th-century composers including Tadeusz Kassern, Roman Palester, and Jean Barraqué. She has also worked closely with numerous others, workshopping and premiering works by a wide range of composers including John Harbison, Kate Soper, Sheila Silver, David Hertzberg, Reena Esmail, Roberto Sierra, Anna Lindemann, and Pauline Oliveros. In helping to realize the complexities of music beyond written notes, the experience of working with these composers translates to all music: the commitment to faithfully communicate not only the score, but also the underlying intentions of its creator.

The Phillips Collection

1600 21st St NW
Washington, DC 20009
United States