Monday, March 20, 2023 @ 8:00pm – 10:00pm (EDT)
St. Mark's Episcopal Church, Washington, DC, United States
Get tickets

RSVP required

With "My end is my beginning," the gorgeous voices of Ars Nova Copenhagen link the worlds of Machaut and Gibbons to those of the 20th-century and beyond. Known for their performances of early and new music, the ensemble led by Paul Hillier is equally at home voicing the Cries of London and Copenhagen. The second half of their concert is devoted to a recent work by Caroline Shaw, the title of which suggests some delicate origami in its construction.

About Ars Nova Copenhagen

ARS NOVA Copenhagen is a 12-piece vocal ensemble founded in 1979 and is widely recognized as one of the world's finest of its kind. The ensemble's chief conductor and artistic director since 2003 is the acclaimed British conductor Paul Hillier. Ars Nova has also worked with a.o. Bo Holten, Tamás Vetö (both former chief conductors), Kaspars Putnins, Andrew Lawrence King, Anthony Rooley, Kees Boeke, Michael Bojesen, and Søren K. Hansen, all of whom have appeared as guest conductors. The ensemble specializes in the interpretation of the polyphonic choral music of the renaissance and new vocal music. Ars Nova is also building collaborations with creative artists in different fields such as drama, film, and ballet, as well as cultivating new modes of concert performance and innovative repertoire. The group's performances are marked with precision and nerve and with a sound that attracts attention worldwide.

St. Mark's Episcopal Church

301 A St SE
Washington, DC 20003
United States