Sunday, January 24, 2016 @ 2:30pm – 4:30pm (PST)
St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, Seattle, WA, United States
Get tickets

$20 ($15 student/senior)

Mikhail Shmidt, violin
Artur Girsky, violin
Cristina Valdes, piano

Dvořák – Nocturne in B major, Op. 40
Sibelius – Valse Triste, Op. 44, No. 1
Schnittke – Concerto Grosso for 2 violins, harpsichord and string orchestra
Mozart – Symphony No. 40, in G minor

Dvořák’s haunting Nocturne in B major opens the program, followed by Sibelius’ Valse Triste (“sad waltz”), reflecting the dreams of a son facing the impending death of his mother. In his Concerto Grosso No. 1 for two violins, harpsichord and prepared piano, Schnittke twists a familiar Baroque form into something entirely new, including modifications to the physical instrument of the piano. The piece features Seattle Symphony violinists Mikhail Shmidt and Artur Girsky alongside pianist Cristina Valdes. Continuing the season theme, the orchestra performs Mozart’s familiar “great G minor” Symphony No. 40.

St. Stephen's Episcopal Church

4805 NE 45th St.
Seattle, WA 98105
United States