Saturday, May 21, 2022 @ 2:00pm – 3:30pm (PDT)
Karen P. ThomasDoubleheart
Claudio MonteverdiL'Orfeo
Salamone Rossi — Selected works
Stephen Stubbs — Selected works
Domenico Mazzocchi — Selected works
Vigilio Mazzocchi — Selected works

The tradition of three women’s voices intertwined in vibrant and sensuous music making stretches from the flowering of the Italian Renaissance to the Wailin’ Jennys, the Supremes, and the Andrews Sisters. The 17th century gave birth to many groups of highly skilled sopranos, and the finest composers of the age competed to write for them. Choreographer Anna Mansbridge has reimagined these creations as fully theatrical events, pairing four sopranos (Danielle Reutter-Harrah, Tess Altiveros, Arwen Myers, and Teresa Wakim) with three female dancers and the PMW chamber ensemble. This dynamic tapestry of sound and movement includes works by 17th-century masters Monteverdi, Mazzocchi, and Rossi, as well as Seattle composer Karen P. Thomas’ Doubleheart and the world premiere of Stephen Stubbs’ setting of the missing Baccante scene at the end of Monteverdi’s Orfeo. Truly a feast for the eyes and ears!

Stephen Stubbs, baroque guitar, lute, direction

Anna Mansbridge, choreographer

Karen P. Thomas, composer (Doubleheart)

Tekla Cunningham, baroque violin

Cynthia Keiko Black, baroque violin

David Morris, lirone and viola da gamba

Maxine Eilander, baroque harp

Henry Lebedinsky, harpsichord

Tess Altiveros, soprano

Arwen Myers, soprano

Danielle Reutter-Harrah, soprano

Teresa Wakim, soprano

Alice Cao, dancer

Erin Crall Scott, dancer

Tshedzom Tingkhye, dancer

The concert will take place at 2 pm Pacific.

Masks must be worn at all times in Benaroya Hall and proof of vaccination or a negative COVID-19 test is required upon entry to Benaroya Hall. Visit the Safety page for more details: