Sunday, December 10, 2023 @ 4:00pm – 5:30pm (EST)
The Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, United States
Online and in-person
Get tickets

In person: SOLD OUT
Stream: $15 ($10 member)

Note: In-person tickets for this performances are currently sold out. However, streaming tickets are still available.

Acclaimed pianist Inon Barnatan has performed as a soloist with leading orchestras and was the inaugural Artist-in-Association of the New York Philharmonic. He presents a program of Moments Musicaux ("Musical Moments") by Franz Schubert, Sergei Rachmaninoff, and Avner Dorman.

Schubert's six-piece set, written between 1823 and 1828, was the first to use the title and exhibits Schubert's penchant for mode mixture, improvisation, and harmonic twists. Inspired by these, Rachmaninoff wrote his own set 70 years later which displays his maturing technique for piano composition. Similarly inspired by Schubert's example, Dorman wrote a pair of Moments Musicaux in 2003 which makes use of mathematical models, polytonality, and diverse stylistic influences.

This event will be broadcast live from the Music Room on Sunday, December 10 at 4pm Eastern. All registered ticket holders will receive a link directing them to a livestream webpage where the performance can be accessed. Ticket holders will be able to watch this performance "On Demand" for 48 hours following the broadcast time.

The Phillips Collection

1600 21st St NW
Washington, DC 20009
United States