Sunday, February 4, 2024 @ 4:00pm – 5:30pm (EST)
The Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, United States
Online and in-person
Get tickets

In person: $45 ($25 member)
Stream: $15 ($10 member)

Three inspiring young performers—violist Jordan Bak, flutist Adam Sadberry, and harpist Ashley Jackson—make their Phillips debut with a thought-provoking program that mixes 20th-century chamber works with new music, including the world premiere of a new work for viola and harp by Washington, DC, composer, Jeffrey Mumford.

The sonic combination of flute, viola, and harp was first explored by Claude Debussy, who was drawn to new possibilities of timbre and instrumental color. The trio performs Debussy's Sonata for Flute, Viola, and Harp, in conversation with an arrangement of Maurice Ravel's Sonatine. Bak takes the stage for three solo viola works: Elliot Carter's pointillistic Figment IV (2007), Mumford's rhapsodic wending (2001), and a work by young composer Tyson Davis, Tableaux XII (2021).

This event will be broadcast live from the Music Room on Sunday, February 4 at 4pm Eastern. All registered ticket holders will receive a link directing them to a livestream webpage where the performance can be accessed. Ticket holders will be able to watch this performance "On Demand" for 48 hours following the broadcast time.

The Phillips Collection

1600 21st St NW
Washington, DC 20009
United States