Sunday, May 5, 2024 @ 4:00pm – 5:30pm (EDT)
The Phillips Collection, Washington, DC, United States
Online and in-person
Get tickets

In person: $45 ($25 member)
Stream: $15 ($10 member)

The 2023/24 season closes with a special performance by a group of elite chamber musicians, led by violinist Livia Sohn and pianist Pedja Mužijević, regular performers at the prestigious Spoleto Festival in Charleston, South Carolina. Sohn and Mužijević begin the program with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's refined Sonata for Violin and Piano in D major, K 306. Anchoring the program is the world premiere of a new piece for violin and piano by Stanford-based composer Jonathan Berger titled Nach Rechts, Nach Links, inspired by Paul Klee's painting of the same name in the Phillips's permanent collection that serves as our season-wide visual theme.

Klee's influence as a painter, teacher, and theorist is as pronounced in music as it has been in the visual arts, and Berger's new work for violin and piano extends the tradition of many direct musical responses to Klee's art and legacy. To conclude the performance, Sohn and Mužijević are joined by violist Ayane Kozasa and cellist Gabriel Cabezas, members of the Owls string quartet. The ensemble presents Robert Schumann's Piano Quartet in E-flat major, Op. 47 (1842), a work of subtlety and bravura, romantic sweep and deep wells of emotion.

This event will be broadcast live from the Music Room on May 5 at 4pm Eastern. All registered ticket holders will receive a link directing them to a livestream webpage where the performance can be accessed. Ticket holders will be able to watch this performance "On Demand" for 48 hours following the broadcast time.

The Phillips Collection

1600 21st St NW
Washington, DC 20009
United States